Creamed Chipped Beef

Currently I’m home in Pennsylvania eating all the foods I grew up with, and I would be remiss to not share the staple of my childhood that is Creamed Chipped Beef.  If any of you have grandparents that were in WWII or the army, they probably know this dish as SOS($#%@ on a Shingle) as it was also a staple for American soldiers during the war.  Regardless of its past creamed chipped beef was an integral part of breakfast for most of my life and I love seeing my siblings making it for my nieces and nephews the way it was made for us.  It’s kind of the Northeast’s answer to sausage biscuits and gravy; instead of the gravy being extremely peppery it can be extremely salty due to the dried beef.  The dried beef is generally sliced paper thin then air dried in a way similar to Italian Bresaola(but less flavorful), then jarred or packaged.  But before going too crazy, here’s the recipe that always makes me think of home!

 

Photo From Demotivationalposters.net (I had to use this photo it made me LOL)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 Cup – All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Stick – Butter, Unsalted
  • 1 TSP – White Pepper
  • 1 1/2 Cups – Milk
  • 4oz – Dried Beef or Chipped Beef (jarred or frozen)
  • 2 Slices – White bread, toasted

 

RECIPE

  1. Add butter to the pan over medium heat and cook until melted
  2. Add dried beef to butter and saute 2-3 mins until salt has released and meat is reconstituted
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool for 3 mins
  4. Return to a low heat and slowly whisk in flour until you have a blonde roux (there may be leftover flour, that’s fine)
  5. Slowly whisk milk into the roux until it is all incorporated and the roux is broken up
  6. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 5 minutes to take out the raw flour flavor, it should have a bit of texture similar to a sausage gravy, if it’s too thin you can continue to simmer or you can add a small amount of room temperature butter tossed with a little flour
  7. Season with white pepper, and salt if it’s needed, though I doubt it will
  8. Ladle the meaty sauce over toast
  9. *OPTIONAL* Garnish with a pinch of nutmeg

 

That’s it, it’s a very simple dish, but it holds a food history for my family and my intention was to share it so that you might do the same with your families and pass down this uniquely American dish.

Leave a Reply

