Cafe Buna | Venice, CA

 Cafe Buna Venice

The atmosphere at Cafe Buna reminded me a lot of the breakfast diners that I loved in PA while growing up.  The walls are covered in local art like my friend’s restaurant, The Blue Cafe, and the  friendly staff tending to a steady stream of regulars makes it feel like home.  The staff really care about every customer, while I waited for my food I was offered a newspaper and coffee refills.  It was just a great relaxing way to start my day and the food put me in an even better mood.  The only possible complaint might be some miscommunication between the kitchen and front of house, but all errors are minute when you feel as comfortable as you do at Cafe Buna.

Cafe Buna Marina Del Rey
Bacon and Eggs!

 

Zuni’s Benedict W/  Fruit

One of the better Benedict’s I’ve had in LA.  The Hollandaise still lacked the citrus and heat I’ve come to love in a great Hollandaise, but it played the job of enhancer in this version.  The english muffin was fresh and fluffy, while I generally like mine more toasted and crunchy, it was great for sponging up yolk and sauce.  The canadian bacon was thick cut, knife tender, and deliciously salty.  The poached eggs were done perfectly and you can really taste the freshness of the eggs.  The yolks were closer to an orange than a yellow, which is hard to find in the US, and they were extra gooey and runny.  I love a perfectly runny yolk that becomes a sauce by itself, and when it combines with the Hollandaise you end up with a sauce that begs to be mopped up.  The fruit that came with the Benedict as a side was extraordinarily fresh and was frankly better than fruit I’ve had from any other breakfast place in ALL of Los Angeles.  The strawberries were sweetly tart and still firm.  The blueberries were tart and crunchy, the banana was medium-ripe with some firmness balanced by the sweetness, and the pineapple was soft and sweet.

 

Oatmeal

The oatmeal was just what I was looking for. It was plain oatmeal with the dressings on the side. It came with walnuts (my favorite nut next to pecans), raisins, and brown sugar. You can add whatever you want in whatever portions you want. They offer you milk also so you can silken the oatmeal if you’d like, but I just like plain boiled oatmeal with raisins and a little brown sugar, though I’m not complaining about the walnuts by any means. It may be a little pricey for just fresh oatmeal, but I really wanted it, and I got exactly what I was looking for!

 

While on my way to the gym, I saw Cafe Buna open at 6:30AM and I knew I had to go there after the gym.  When I walked in I knew it was just what I was looking for.  I loved the food, the staff were awesome, and the vibe is nothing but relaxed.  They have a really expansive menu with tons of things to try so I’ll definitely be back.  The menu has a lot of health conscious options also, including: Acai Berry bowl, oatmeal, granola, fruit bowls, gluten free pancakes, and I’ve seen a lot of things saying the corn flake french toast is amazing.  The prices are a little expensive, but the food is fresh, more than can be said of a lot of place in LA!

Cafe Buna

3105 Washington Blvd.

Marina Del Rey, CA 90292

(310) – 823 – 2430

YELP

Leave a Reply

