Sauteed Mushrooms with Pork and Pesto

The Glendon Bar & Kitchen | Westwood, CA

Sauteed Mushrooms with Pork and Pesto

The Glendon Bar & Kitchen is a restaurant less than a block from my new place of work in Westwood.  I’ve walked past it and seen a happening night scene.  All the girls are dolled up and the men sharply dressed.  I initially thought it was only a bar, and then my coworker told me they served food also and we went during their late night happy hour from 10PM to 12AM.  They have a whole happy hour menu and it includes apps, sandwiches, drinks, and more.  I thoroughly  enjoyed my choices, but one of my coworkers got the Braised Pork Belly Taco and was not too impressed.

Beets Chevre

It was happy hour when my co-workers and I went, so I ordered off the small plates menu.  They don’t lie about the small plates though the portion size was tiny, BUT the flavors are very well thought out and I found the sizing perfect for this chilled dish.  The beets are roasted and peeled, two varietals, purple and red beets.  They’re on a bed of parcooked greens that still have a bright crunch.  They didn’t have vinegar or acidity at all which threw me off, but the combinatiom of the sweet beats with the mild crunchy greens was amazing.  Even better still is the piece of fried goat cheese that comes on top.  You break off a little piece of cheese with a chunk of beet and the greens and your mouth experiences a sensation that is truly a sum of all the parts.  The flavor you attain with this combined bite far surpasses the flavors of the individual players in this show and I loved it.  The main thing that stood out to me were the reminiscient flavors of lamb fat when taking a combined bite that wasn’t present in the individual ingredients.

Cucumber Avocado Shrimp Ceviche

The four mini-tortilla chips topped with ceviche satiated my want for fresh seafood and citrus flavors.  The avocado comes in as the emulsifier and turns it from a disajointed bite of separate ingredients into a fluid flavor delivery method.  The cucumber does what it does best, it reminds you that it’s there without overpowering anything else, and the bright lime/cilantro flavors take hold of your face without letting go.  The shrimp played their part, they didn’t take the center as I was expecting, the lime and cilantro did, which I can’t complain about.  I just wanted the shrimp a level more tender than they were, but it was by no means bad ceviche!

Garlic and Herb Fries with Garlic Aioli

Garlic Herb Fries

The fries rock.  The garlic aoili with the fries. . . Rocks. . .   The fries have a perfect exterior crunch with a pillowy potato inside.  They’ve got garlic and herbs enough to stand on their own but when dipped in the garlic aioli they do a magic trick called kicking you in the face.  The only drawback was the excess seasoning at the end of the fries that you have to flick off your fingers, but that has nothing to do with any flavors, which is why I’m here.  Some of the better fries I’ve eaten for sure though.

 

THE GLENDON BAR AND KITCHEN

1071 Glendon Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90024

(310) – 208 – 2023

WEBSITE

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

Leave a Reply

