How to prep melons

Grape VS Grapefruit Juice

Juice dieting recipes

All my life I have struggled with weight loss, I weighed around 250lbs my sophomore year of high school.  Since then I’ve been able to get down to 200, over and over again, but I want to go beyond that and not have to worry about a number, instead I want to worry about how I feel.  After seeing the documentary Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, I decided it was time to devote myself to making healthier life decisions, and my first decision was to go on a micro-nutrient rich juice diet or fast.  In a juice diet, all of the debris clinging to your insides is cleared out, which allows the body to naturally absorb more nutrients.  The juice itself is loaded with micro-nutrients in higher content than you could ever attain by just eating regular fruit and vegetables, so your body is able to utilize much more of these resources in the struggle to win your body back to the side of healthiness.

It took me a few days to figure out the importance of high yield fruits/veggies, and the best ones I’ve found have been melons and cantaloupes.  They have enough juice in half of them to tamper even the nastiest of broccoli juices, and trust me, broccoli juice is horrible.  Another powerful agent in the flavor profile of juicing is grapefruit, it’s bitter acidity is great at over powering the saltiness of juiced spinach, or the peppery flavor of arugula.  This juice is really simple, there isn’t too much prep work to be done, and the grapes/grapefruit really bring a good bright finish to the juice.  Definitely one of my better ones!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Grapefruit – Peeled and Chopped
  • 1/2 – 1lb Green Grapes
  • 1/2 Cantaloupe
  • 16oz Raw Spinach
  • 1 1/2lbs  Baby Carrots
  • 2 Medium Granny Smith Apples

RECIPE

  1. Chop up your fruits and vegetables, cutting the skin off the cantaloupe, coring the apples, and peeling the grapefruit
  2. Throw all your crisp fruits/veggies in the juicer
  3. Throw all your soft fruit/veggies in the juicer
  4. BOOM, enjoy!

I hope you’re enjoying these juice recipes, and it may have even inspired you to lose the extra pounds you’ve been carrying around.  If you have any great weight loss stories I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

