Matsui – Torrance, CA | Delicious Japanese Noodle Combo Platters

My friend Adam and I went to Matsui after a long discussion of wanting Japanese food that wasn’t sushi.  We scoured the yelp and urban spoon and came across Matsui in Torrance.

 

Japanese Food
Photography by Nick Kern

 

I got the Pork Miso Don, which consists of Sauteed Pork with shiitake mushrooms and onion with a miso sauce.  The whole dish is served over rice.  It came with another bowl of rice, a bowl of hot or cold (udon or soba) noodles.  There was also a side of green beans and some weird sweet pickled thing that was delicious.  I added it to the soup and I got the hot soup.  I was very satisfied with my meal and somehow managed to eat all of it.  Adam and I also got their Spicy Tuna Handrolls.

Japanese noodles, soup, sushi, rice bowls
Photography by Adam Latz

Adam got their special for the day, it came with sushi, salad, and tempura with noodle soup.  It was all nigiri sushi, which is when there is a small patty of rice topped with a tiny dollop of wasabi to bind a thin slice of fresh fish or seafood to the rice.  They’re very fresh and light.  He said the salad had a great sesame ginger dressing and there was a spice on the table that seemed like dried chili flakes that he blasted the soup with.  It was really spicy but didn’t over power the flavor of the broth.  The tempura was freshly fried with a crunchy outside and tender shrimp and vegetables.

10 thoughts on “Matsui – Torrance, CA | Delicious Japanese Noodle Combo Platters”

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

