Pan Fried Tuna Cakes

This is a really easy delight to make. It’s a good way to introduce seafood to kids and is a healthier alternative to traditional burgers!

I’m currently very poor, and I’ve been looking through my cabinets for things to make that would be good.  I ended up finding a can of tuna and thing of bread crumbs.  Then I thought of the new tuna commercials where they say you can jazz it up.  I jazzed it up alright!  It tastes great, very similar to a crab cake in texture with a tuna flavor.  I apologize again for my camera phone pictures.  I’m sure they don’t look too appetizing from it, but I thought I’d show the real deal instead of stock photos.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1 Can Solid White Albacore Tuna
  • 1 Tbsp Mayonnaise
  • 2 Tsp Sweet Relish
  • 1 Tsp Paprika
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Dill
  • 1 Tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 Cup of Unseasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 2 Tsp Unseasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil

RECIPE

  1. Drain the Tuna and rinse with water, empty into a bowl
  2. Add Mayo, Sweet Relish, Paprika, Dill, Pepper, and 2 tsp Bread Crumbs
  3. Combine
  4. Heat a pan to medium high heat
  5. Add oil
  6. Pour cup of Bread Crumbs onto a flat plate
  7. Form Tuna into 2 flat Patties and coat evenly with Bread Crumbs on both sides
  8. Carefully put the patties into the hot oil
  9. Cook for 2 minutes or until browned, flip
  10. Cook another 2 minutes or until browned
  11. Remove and serve

I served mine as the protein with a side of Sweet Potatoes and Raisin and Baked Beans.  It was a delicious and healthy meal!  Very filling, but not too high in the caloric scale!

I hope you guys try this and like it a lot, as always I look forward to your comments, suggestions and ideas.  Hopefully this’ll make you think outside the box, or in this case can, of tuna!

Leave a Reply

