Bagels Benedict Topped With Cream Cheese Reduction

I just wrote an article about a variation of Eggs Benedict, and it really made me want poached eggs, so I looked around at what I had and came up with this little delight. For those of you who like Cream Cheese Bagels, this just mixes bagels and Benedict into awesomeness.

This is a very rare event, I actually had a chance to take a few photos of the food I was making, sadly I only had my cell phone at hand, which is from 1998, but I made do.  This is a filling breakfast in smaller portions, I think that’s the best part, it looks like less than it is.

Ingredients

  • 1 Plain Bagel, Halfed and Toasted
  • 3 Slices of Smoked Ham Lunch Meat
  • 2 Medium – Large Eggs
  • 3 – 5 Spoonfuls of Vegetable Herb Cream Cheese
  • 1 – 1 1/2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Tsp Garlic
  • 1 Tsp Pepper
  • 1 Tbsp Salt
  • 4 or 5 Grape Tomatoes Finely Diced
  • 1/2 Tbsp Cilantro

RECIPE

  • Toast your bagels
  • In a small pan heat up butter and garlic to medium heat
  • Put another stove to High heat and add a pot full of water, add salt and vinegar, bring to a boil then lower to a simmer
  • Put a few dollops of Cream Cheese into Garlic butter and stir until melted, continue adding until you’ve reached a consistency and taste of your liking.  I only used a little bit, a spoon and a half maybe
  • Spread Garlic, Butter, Cream Cheese on toasted bagels
  • Cook 2 slices of the ham in the pot or pan you used to make the sauce, cook until lightly browned and place on top of the cream cheese
  • Put the remaining 1 slice of ham in the vinegar water and add the 2 eggs to the simmering water
  • Poach eggs for about 5-7 minutes until opaque and yolks are slightly firm
  • Dice tomatoes and cilantro fine while eggs are cooking
  • sprinkle black pepper on the ham
  • Put the cooked eggs on the ham
  • top with tomato and cilantro, serve

You could also wait til the eggs are on the ham and put the cream cheese mixture on top like a more traditional Benedict, but I thought it was more fun to treat it like a bagel dish with the egg added, though I’ve labeled it Bagels Benedict with Cream Cheese Sauce.  It’s really hearty, but awesome.  Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

